Skip Navigation

Martin Luther King Day Poster Contest Winners


(images at

Nu Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority and the Martin Luther King Jr. West Virginia Holiday Commission are pleased to announce the winners of the 2000 Poster Contest. These winners will be recognized at an awards luncheon on Saturday, Jan. 13, at the Cultural Center in the State Capitol Complex. Governor Cecil H. Underwood will present the winners with U.S. Savings Bonds and certificates of recognition.

Grades K-12
1st Place Kaleb Cihon, 2nd Grade, Kellogg Grade School, Huntington
2nd Place Matthew Pack, 2nd Grade, Leon Elementary School, Leon
3rd Place Megan Jarrett, 2nd Grade, Central Elementary School, St. Albans

Grades 3-5
1st Place Adam Epler, 3rd Grade, Central Elementary School, Buckhannon
2nd Place Paige Casto, 4th Grade, Belle Elementary School, Belle
3rd Place Mary Doneghy, 5th Grade, Piedmont Elementary School, Charleston

Grades 6-8
1st Place Maxi Tittel, 7th Grade, Barboursville Middle School, Barboursville
2nd Place Jessica Black, 8th Grade, Jackson Junior High School, Vienna
3rd Place Hannah Drennen, 8th Grade, Jackson Junior High School, Vienna
Kelli Low, 8th Grade, Jackson Junior High School, Vienna

Grades 9-12
1st Place Jennifer Thomas, 10th Grade, Riverside High School, Belle
2nd Place Derek Wingo, 10th Grade, Big Creek High School, War
3rd Place Tyler Kelly, 9th Grade, Ripley High School, Ripley
Elizabeth Freeman, 9th Grade, Robert C. Byrd High School, Clarksburg