Skip Navigation

State Historic Preservation Office awards grants


The State Historic Preservation Office (SHPO) of the West Virginia Division of Culture and History has awarded development grants totaling $500,000 to the owners of 27 sites listed in the National Register of Historic Places. The money, which is provided through the West Virginia Legislature, will assist with the restoration or rehabilitation of the historic properties.

This year’s development grant recipients are: 827 Benoni Avenue, Fairmont ($8,910); Campbell Mansion Study, Bethany ($11,400); Cooper’s Mill, Fairmont ($2,000); Delmonte Hotel, Elkins ($49,600); Dr. L.S. Spragg House, Wheeling ($5,835); Goering House, Wheeling ($11,397); Hancock House, Bluefield ($6,125); Henry Cooper Cabin Museum, Parkersburg ($40,000); James Howell House, Union ($4,665); John Bishop House, Martinsburg ($24,000); M&M Bank Building, Grafton ($7,500); Maidstone Manor, Falling Waters ($34,984); Martinsburg Steam Laundry Building ($20,000); Maxwell-Duncan House Carriage House, Clarksburg ($9,000); McDowell County Courthouse, Welch ($69,040); Old Bank Building, Lewisburg ($13,676); Quiet Dell Schoolhouse, Bridgeport ($3,540); Redbud Hollow, Inwood ($3,210); Samuel Hedges House, Martinsburg ($3,720); Stealey-Goff-Vance House, Clarksburg ($16,998); Strand Theatre, Moundsville ($41,745); Traveler’s Repose, Bartow ($2,918); Vancroft, Wellsburg ($15,000); Waldomore, Clarksburg ($20,000); The Warfield House, Elkins ($2,737); Willow Wall Plantation, Old Fields ($57,000); and YWCA of Wheeling ($15,000).

For more information about historic preservation development grants, call the SHPO at (304) 558-0240. Properties must be listed in the National Register of Historic Places or be a contributing structure in a National Register Historic District to be eligible. Buildings used for government purposes only, as well as those used for religious purposes or owned by religious organizations, are not eligible for assistance. The application deadline for next year’s grants is March 31, 2003.

The West Virginia Division of Culture and History, an agency of the West Virginia Department of Education and the Arts, brings together the state’s past, present and future through programs and services in the areas of archives and history, the arts, historic preservation and museums. Visit the Division’s website at for more information about programs of the Division. The Division of Culture and History is an Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action Employer.

- 30 -