Newspaper Articles

Welch Daily News
May 12, 1959

Kennedy, Kefauver To Visit Wyoming

It is possible that Wyoming County may be visited by the Democratic presidential nominee in 1960 at a county Democratic Rally.

Two hopefuls, Senator Estes Kefauver of Tennessee, a perennial campaigner, and Senator John Kennedy, 42-year-old Senator from Massachusetts, a man whom many think will enter the presidential race, will appear at the rally in July, 1960.

By this time the Democratic presidential nominating convention will have been over one month. Either may be the nominee.

The two will appear at the rally through the efforts of Marshall E. West, Oceana attorney and member of the State House of Delegates.

West announced the two speakers at a meeting of the Oceana District Democratic Club at its first meeting since last fall at the Kopperston Grade School Friday evening.

Purpose of the meeting was organization and election of officers. Marshall E. West, Oceana attorney, was named president. Other officers follow: Mrs. Garnett Herndon, vice-president; Mrs. Jane Lowe, secretary; and Vaughan Cozort, treasurer.

West conducted the election and was assisted by David Haynes of Cyclone.

Plans for the year's activities were discussed. Meetings are to be bi-monthly on the second Thursday of the month. The next meeting is scheduled at the Knotty Pine July 9.

Membership cards have been ordered and may be obtained from officers. Special meetings will be called by the executive board.

The following committee members were appointed: policy, Joe Crowder, chairman; Herman Hopkins, Argel Cozort, Bert Short, Ralph Justice, Drewey Mitchell, Woodrow Dillon, Wayne Hatfield, Dick Haynes, Buck Lowe, Chester Hawkins, James Gibson, Leland Tilley, Chris Fisher, Earl Cook, Jr., Bud Daniel, John Shumate, Emory Lusk and H. L. Webb.

Election, Vaughn Cozort, chairman; Ted Patfick, Ralph Justice; registration, Wayne Hatfield, chairman; John Shumate, John Hobert; publicity, James Gibson, chairman, Bud Daniels, Leland Tilley; speakers, Joe Crowder, chairman; Bert Short, Acy Aliff; arrangements, Herman Hopkins, chairman, David Haynes and Mrs. James Lowe.

Report of the meeting, the election and committee appointments will be filed with the state executive committee and the Wyoming County chairman, Dr. Ward Wylie, Mullens.

| Campaign Summary |
| Visits by Date | Visits by County |

| Advertisements and Cartoons | Audio-Visual | Documents |
| Newspapers | Oral Histories | Photographs | Reminiscences | Speeches |

West Virginia Archives and History