Timeline of West Virginia: Civil War and Statehood
April 11, 1862

Wheeling Intelligencer
April 16, 1862

Public Meeting in Boothsville, Marion County, Va.

Previous notice having been given, the citizens of Boothsville and surrounding county, composed of the different parties, assembled in Boothsville on Friday, April 11th, 1862, and were organized by appointing Jonathan T. Curry, Chairman and Wm. J. Martin and S. C. Nixon, Secretaries.

On motion of Joseph Reed, the Secretary was empowered to appoint a committee of gentlemen composed as nearly equal as possible of the different parties, and from the different neighborhoods in and around Boothsville, so that each party and section may be fully represented, whose duty it should be to introduce matter for the consideration of the meeting.

The Chairman, J. T. Curry, explained the object of the meeting in a neat little speech, after which the Secretary appointed the following gentlemen as the committee: Dr. H. A. Rymer, Captain N. Altop, J. Reed, R. P. Nixon, J. W. Dean, J. R. Morgan, J. T. Curry, A. D. Nuzum, G. M. Ryan, F. Coplin, B. Linn, Rev. J. J. Nixon, Rev. J. Cleland, S. A. Tucker, W. N. Brand, J. R. Elder, R. R. Nuzum, S. W. Vincent, G. H. Manley, J. O. Manley, S. Holbert, R. Robinson, J. S. Tucker, J. Lanham, F. Bise, J. G. Thompson, A. Freeman, H. Manley, H. Martin, sen., E. M. Smittey, Dr. F. A. Reymer.

2. Resolved, That we who voted for the Ordinance of Secession, doubly desire to express our disapproval of Southern guerrillas making this the theatre of their actions, and we pledge ourselves, as law-abiding citizens, that we will neither aid, abet nor harbor them (unless coerced by superior power or force of arms) nor their unholy actions, and that we will give information to the proper authorities of persons visiting this county for said purpose, whenever known to us.

3. Resolved, That we who voted against the Ordinance of Secession will use our utmost abilities to protect all loyal and law abiding citizens.

On motion, the said resolutions were adopted by a rising vote unanimously, after which speeches were made by Dr. A. Rymer, Rev. James Cleland and Rev. J. J. Nixon.

Whereupon the Committee retired, and during their absence, short but appropriate speeches were made by Dr. J. B. Coneway, J. H. G. Prim, A. Morris, H. Barrick and others.

The Committee having now returned, reported through their Chairman, Dr. H. A. Rymer, the following preamble and resolutions:

Whereas, Guerrilla warfare is entirely at variance with civilization, also selfish, unnatural and wicked, and whenever carried on is only pursued for personal revenge and personal interest, without any reference to the great object aimed at by all civil mode of warfare:namely: peace in a distracted country; and, whereas, the innocent are alike the victims of its cruelty, and too often its only victims.

1. Therefore, Resolved, That we are entirely opposed to the same, and are willing to do all in our power, both by word and actions, to suppress any acts of lawlessness that may come to our knowledge, so that the monster evil, that has caused us so much so much sorrow, may be rushed out of our once happy, but now distracted country.

On motion of Francis Coplin, it was announced that there would be a general mass meeting held in this place on Saturday, April 26, 1862, at 12 o'clock, and all persons friendly to said meeting are cordially invited to attend.

On motion of Dr. Coneway, the Wheeling, Fairmont and Clarksburg papers are requested to publish these proceedings.

The meeting then adjourned.

Jonathan T. Currey, Pres't.
Wm. J. Martin, Sec'y.

Timeline of West Virginia: Civil War and Statehood: April 1862

West Virginia Archives and History