Timeline of West Virginia: Civil War and Statehood
April 2, 1863

Wheeling Intelligencer
April 4, 1863

Parkersburg Convention - Appointment of Delegates from Brooke County.

At a meeting of the citizens of Brooke county held at the Court House, April 2d, 1863, George Hooker, Esq., was chosen President and J. B. Lockhart Secretary. The following gentlemen were appointed delegates to the Parkersburg Convention:

Rev. D. Hervey, A. Kuhn, J. B. Lockhart, R. M. Wells, Col. J. D. Nicholls, James Archer, Esq., J. R. Winson, Esq., Nathaniel Wells, Col. H. W. Crothers, Dr. A. W. Campbell, Joseph Gist, Esq., C. Tarr, Zaddock Fowler, Capt. Eli Green, James Hervey, Esq., Col. W. P. Strain, C. F. Scott, George Hooker, Esq., Z. McElfresh, and John Atkinson, Esq.

On motion of Col. Crothers the following resolution was unanimously adopted:

Resolved, That Dr. John C. Campbell, of Ohio county, be recommended as a candidate for Judge of this Circuit, and that our delegates be instructed to confer with the delegates from other counties composing this Circuit, and that they use all honorable means to secure his nomination.

On motion of James Hervey.

Resolved, That our delegates be instructed to say to said convention, that the nomination of Hon. P. G. Van Winkle by said convention for Governor of West Virginia will meet our entire approbation.

On motion of Col Crothers,

Resolved, That the proceedings of this meeting be published in the Wellsburg Herald and Wheeling Intelligencer.

On motion adjourned.

G. Hooker, President.
J. B. Lockhart, Secretary.

Timeline of West Virginia: Civil War and Statehood: April 1863

West Virginia Archives and History