Timeline of West Virginia: Civil War and Statehood
April 13, 1863

Wheeling Intelligencer
April 29, 1863


A public meeting of the citizens of Harrison county was held at the Court House thereof, in Clarksburg, on Monday, the 13th day of April 1863.

On motion of Dr. A. F. Barnes, John Hursey was called to the chair and Thomas L. Moore was appointed Secretary.

The object of the meeting was briefly stated by Thomas W. Harrison, Esq., and on this motion it was

Resolved, That the Chairman of this meeting appoint fifteen persons, three from each magisterial district in Harrison county, as delegates from the said county to represent the same in the proposed Convention to be held in Parkersburg, for the purpose of nominating candidates for the various State offices in the New State of West Virginia, and that the Secretary of this meeting notify the delegates of their appointment.

The Chairman appointed the following named persons as such delegates, to wit: William C. Fitzhugh, George Long, Solomon S. Fleming, George W. Golden, John W. Boggess, Lemuel D. Haggerty, Matthias W. Davis, Luther Haymond, Edmund L. Staley, Benjamin F. Shuttleworth, Cornelius Lawson, Edward Stewart and Isaac D. Ross.

On motion of Melville Davisson,

Resolved, That the Chairman and Secretary of this meeting be added as delegates from this county to the aforesaid Convention.

Resolved, That the proceedings of this meeting be signed by the Chairman and Secretary, and published in the Wheeling Intelligencer,

Ordered that the meeting do now adjourn sine die.

Timeline of West Virginia: Civil War and Statehood: April 1863

West Virginia Archives and History