Timeline of West Virginia: Civil War and Statehood
September 22, 1863

Wheeling Intelligencer
September 28, 1863

Union Meeting in Doddridge County.

At a meeting of the Union citizens of Doddridge county, pursuant to previous notice, held at the Court House of said county, on Tuesday evening, September 22d, 1863, on motion Christopher Nicholson was chosen President, and B. H. Maulsby appointed Secretary.

col. Floyd Neely, in a few brief remarks explained the object of the meeting, whereupon the following persons were appointed delegates to attend the Moundsville on the 30th inst., for the purpose of nominating a suitable person to represent the First District of West Virginia in the next Congress of the United States, to wit:

E. B. Southworth, H. S. Sayre, J. H. Diss Debar, Edwin Maxwell, F. K. Knight, Thos. S. Gray, Jesse J. Allen, Elhana W. Davis, Eleazer Freeman, Hiram Jennings, Benjamin F. Jones, Floyd Neely, Franklin Maxwell, Godfrey Carroll, J. R. Sterling and Emanuel Bates.

On motion it was ordered that the President and Secretary be added to the list of delegates.

Resolved, By this meeting, that the delegates hereby appointed use all honorable means in said Convention to secure the nomination of Hon. J. B. Blair.

Resolved, That the proceedings of this meeting be published in the Wheeling Intelligencer and the Parkersburg Gazette.

On motion, the meeting adjourned sine die.

Christopher Nicholson, Pres't.
B. H. Maulsby, Sec'y.

Timeline of West Virginia: Civil War and Statehood: September 1863

West Virginia Archives and History