Timeline of West Virginia: Civil War and Statehood
December 30, 1863

Wheeling Intelligencer
December 31, 1863

Meeting in the Third Ward.

At a meeting of the citizens of Clay township, (Third Ward,) held in pursuant to notice, on Wednesday evening, 30th inst., at the Court House, for the purpose of nominating suitable candidates for the various township offices and appointing delegates to the County Convention to be held on Saturday next for the nomination of a candidate for County Treasurer, Mr. Robert Morrison was appointed chairman and A. B. Caldwell secretary.

On motion,

The following persons were unanimously nominated as candidates for the several township offices.

For Supervisor - D. J. C. Hupp.
Clerk - M. T. Wayman.
Overseer of Poor - Dr. A. S. Todd.
Treasurer - Alexander Turner.
Inspectors of Election - Jacob Singleton, I. H. Williams.
Justices of Peace - Wm. Hamilton, James Bodley.
Constables - John Charnock, Stephen P. Tracy.

On motion,

Messrs. Jacob Singleton, James Bodley and Isaiah Warren were appointed delegates to the County Convention, with instructions to recommend Joseph A. Metcalf as a suitable person to fill the office of County Treasurer.

On motion,

Messrs. George K. Wheat and W. B. Simpson were appointed a committee to procure tickets for the approaching township election.

On motion,

Resolved, That the proceedings of this meeting be published in the Wheeling Intelligencer.

Robert Morrison, Ch'n.
A. B. Caldwell, Sec'y.

Timeline of West Virginia: Civil War and Statehood: December 1863

West Virginia Archives and History