Timeline of West Virginia: Civil War and Statehood
July 23, 1864

Wheeling Daily Intelligencer
July 26, 1864

Hancock County Meeting.

At a meeting of the Union citizens of Hancock county, pursuant to the call of the County Executive Committee, held at the Court House in New Manchester, on Saturday, the 23d inst., James L. Freeman, Esq., was chosen President and Dan Donehoo, Secretary.

The object of the meeting having been stated, on motion, it was agreed that four Delegates from each Township of the county be appointed to represent the Union party of Hancock in the State Convention to be held at Grafton, West Virginia, on the 3d of August next. Where upon the following gentlemen were appointed.

Butler - Ewing Turner, William Brown, Gen. W. L. Crawford, and John C. Crawford.

Clay - Jas. L. Freeman, Esq., Jno. H. Atkinson, Esq., B. J. Smith, and N. B. Grafton.

Poe - Dan. Donehoo, D. S. Nicholson, McC. Flanegin, and S.W. Wilson.

Grant - Geo. Johnston, Robt. Hewitt, Jno. W. Allison, and J. N. Brown.

On motion, Jas G. Marshall and Jno. W. Hobbs, were added to the list of Delegates.

On motion, it was ordered that in the event of the Delegates attending said State Convention from this Congressional District, agreeing to nominate at Grafton a candidate for Congress, that the Delegates this day appointed, be instructed to use all honorable means to secure the nomination of Jno. H. Atkinson as such candidate.

J.L. Freeman, Pres.

Timeline of West Virginia: Civil War and Statehood: July 1864

West Virginia Archives and History