Timeline of West Virginia: Civil War and Statehood
July 29, 1864

Wheeling Daily Intelligencer
August 2, 1864

Meeting in Barbour County.

At a meeting of the Union citizens of the county of Barbour, held at Phillippi on the 29th day of July, 1864, on motion of Spencer Dayton, Martin Myers, Esq., was called to the chair and J. H. Glascock was appointed secretary.

The object of the meeting having been explained, it was resolved to appoint five delegates from each township of the county. The following persons were named and appointed:

Phillippi - David Zinn, Spencer Dayton, William Payne, Peter Zinn and Hanson L. Hoff.

Barker - Jesse Teter, Rev. Joseph Teter, Jr., Arnold Wright, Allen V. Wilmoth and John Hilkey.

Glade - S S. Lockney, Edmund Hill, James Bayles, Col. Wm. Price and Joshua A. Jones.

Cove - James Trahorn, G. A. Campton, Col. Jas. Nester, Capt. M. T. Hallar and Hury D. Martin.

Pleasant - J. L. Hawkins, Joshua Glascock, John Keller, John Proudfoot and John McVicker.

Elk - W. C. Trimble, P. G. Chrislip, Benjamin McCay, Robert Stewart and Abraham Simon.

Union - Jonas Cooper, George Skidmore, John Maxwell, William Ward and E. J. O. Brine.

On motion, the president and secretary were added to the list of delegates.

On further motion, it was

Resolved, That any Union citizen of this county entitled to vote, and being present in the Convention, should be entitled to a seat in that body.

On further motion, the proceedings of this meeting were ordered to be published in the Wheeling Intelligencer, Fairmont National, or West Virginia Republican.

Thereupon the meeting adjourned.

Martin Myers, Chairman.
J. H. Glascock, Secretary.

Timeline of West Virginia: Civil War and Statehood: July 1864

West Virginia Archives and History