Timeline of West Virginia: Civil War and Statehood
July 30, 1864

Wheeling Daily Intelligencer
August 2, 1864

Meeting in Monongalia County.

In pursuance of previous notice, a meeting of the Union Voters of Monongalia was held in the Court House, on Saturday, July 30th, 1864, and was organized by nominating, Jno. E. Lough, Esq., as Chairman, and J. V. Boughner, Secretary.

After the object of the meeting being explained, on motion, Jas. T. McCloskey, Gen. Lee Roy Kramer, Thos. Joliffe, J. F. Boughner, Wm. Simpson, A. W. Brown, and John Anderson were appointed a committee to nominate delegates to the Grafton Convention. The committee reported the following gentlemen:

Clinton Township. - Joseph Joliffe, Thos. Tarleton, Omar B. Johnson, Moses Steel, Wm. Holland, Sen., John C. Malone and Samuel Shuttleworth.

Morgan Township - Col. Joseph Snider, Gen. E. C. Bunker, Harvey Staggers, Wm. Lazier, Esq., Gen. Lee Ryo Kramer, J. A. Saer and J. M. Hagans.

Union Township. - Henry S. Comba, C. H. Burgess, Wm. I. Vandervort, Joseph Smelt, John Sheets, Jacob Miller and Jacob Jennine.

Grant Township. - Wm. Fear, Henry Potter, Col. R. Finnell, Wm. W. Arnett, John B. Lough, Esq., John N. Waters, Esq., and Rev. G. F. C. Conn.

Cass Township. - James Lazzle, Joel Bowlby, Samuel S. Yeager, Wm. Simpson, John M. Brand, John Lemley and Solomon Berry.

Clay Township. - A. W. Brown, R. B. Tennant, Sam'l Laugh, A. Garrison, Wm. Price, Esq., B. F. Swisker and David Denley.

Battelle Township. - John Anderson, Wm. Kinney, P. L. Rice, Jas. White, Richard Wiley, Jacob G. Haught and Henry Park.

The report was received and adopted.

On motion of J. W. Hagans, the following resolution was adopted:

Resolved, That it is the sense of this meeting that Arthur I. Boreman, the present incumbent of the Gubernatorial chair, having filled the position with the Jeffersonian qualifications of honesty and capacity, is the choice of the people of this county for renomination at Grafton.

On motion of William Lazier, Esq., all Union citizens of the county at Grafton on the day of the Convention are authorized to act in conjunction with the delegates heretofore appointed.

On motion, it was ordered that a copy of these proceedings be forwarded to the Wheeling Daily Intelligencer and Morgantown Post for publication.

On motion, the meeting adjourned.

John B. Lough, Chairman.
J.V. Boughner, Sec'y.

Timeline of West Virginia: Civil War and Statehood: July 1864

West Virginia Archives and History