Timeline of West Virginia: Civil War and Statehood
August 27, 1864

The Wheeling Daily Intelligencer
August 29, 1864

Enlisted Men Accepted, August 27.

1st W.Va. Cavalry. - Henry M. Tomlinson, credited to Monongalia county; Henry McLean, Ohio county.

1st Artillery. - Richard Haley, Thomas Carter, William Brown, James Campbell, credited to Ohio county; Lawrence Cady, Monongalia county; Isaac Moffit, Marion county.

17th W.Va, Infantry. - William H. Sheets, Philipp V. Wigal, Youzanna Armstrong, Anthony Brogan, David S Laws, William H Warner, credited to Wood county; John Weusyel, Ohio county; Eugenuis E. Leyman, Marshall county; Atherton Benjamin, George H. Butler, Jeremiah F. Bircher, John Clark, Richard A. Kirk, Gorge W. McGill, William D. Magill, Joel D. Wuzman, Elmore Thomas, Taylor county.

6th Cavalry. - William F. Pell, John W. Pratt, James O. Russell, John L. Russell, Taylor county.

7th Cavalry - Joseph Bostick, James S. Cline, James Fulton, James W. Jones, Andrew P. Jackson, Milton Newhouse, John P. Reynolds, Solomon Reed, George W. Smith, James VanBibber, credited to Ohio county.

2nd Cavalry. - James McGlenn, credited to Ohio county.

5th Cavalry, -- Francis E. Jolliff, credited to Monongalia county.

6th Infantry. - Daniel C. Lochery, credited to Marion county.

45th U. S. C. T. - George Allen, credited to Marion county.

Timeline of West Virginia: Civil War and Statehood: August 1864

West Virginia Archives and History