Timeline of West Virginia: Civil War and Statehood
January 18, 1865

Journal of the House of Delegates of the State of West Virginia
(Wheeling: John F. M'Dermot, Public Printer, 1865)

Saturday, January 18, 1865.

Prayer by Rev. T. H. Trainer, member of the House.

John Boggs, delegate from Pendleton, appeared and was qualified.

Mr. Goff, from the Special Committee, to whom was referred the subject of compensation for the officers of the House, presented a report recommending the adoption of the following resolution:

Resolved, That the Clerk of the House shall, during the session of that body, receive ten dollars per day.

The Assistant clerk shall receive five dollars per day.

The Sergeant-at-arms shall receive five dollars per day.

The Door-keeper shall receive three dollars per day.

The Janitor shall receive three dollars per day.

The Pages shall each receive two dollars per day.

The resolution was adopted.

Mr. Ferguson offered the following; which, on his motion, was referred to the Committee on Taxation and Finance when appointed.

Resolved by the Legislature, That the Auditor is hereby directed to credit John B. Bumgardner, collector of the revenue of the county of Cabell with $496,00 [sic] in the settlement of said collector for the years 1861 and 1862, the said sum having been taken from John M. Smith, his deputy, by armed rebels in the Spring of 1864.

Mr. Chapline, by leave, introduced House Bill No. 1, "A Bill to extend the time allowed the civil officers of the counties of Jefferson, Berkeley and Morgan in which to qualify and give bond;" which was read the first time.

On motion of Mr. Chapline, the rule was suspended, and the bill read the second time, amended, on motion of Mr. Segur, by adding the county of Wayne to the counties mentioned in the bill, and ordered to engrossment; and being forthwith engrossed, the rule was suspended on motion of Mr. Chapline, and the bill read the third time and passed, and the title suitably amended:

The YEAS were - Messrs. Alexander, Barns, Boggs, Bonar, Casto, Cather, Chapline, Cox, Crooks, Dyche, Ferguson, Fleming, Galloway, Gilmore, Goff, Gorrell, Gregory, Hagar, Hale, Hinchman, Holman, Kellar, King, Koonce, Kyle, Little, Lough, Mairs, Michael, Morris, McGrew, Parks, Peterson, Pinnell, Riddle, Scott, Segur, Smith of Hancock, Smith of Berkeley, Stephenson, Trainer, Van Winkle, Wells, Wilson, Mr. Speaker - 45.

The NAYS were - none.

Mr. Goff presented a petition from officers of the twenty-first regiment of militia praying an appropriation for services rendered in defense of the State; which, on his motion, was referred to the Committee on Military Affairs, when appointed.

Mr. Pinnell presented a petition of citizens of the county of Randolph pryaing a change in the boundary line between that county and the county of Upshur.

On motion of Mr. McGrew:

Resolved, That the Public Printer be instructed to print, with as little delay as possible, 200 copies of the rules of the House of Delegates for the use of the members.

On motion of Mr. Cather, the House adjourned.

Timeline of West Virginia: Civil War and Statehood: January 1865

West Virginia Archives and History