Timeline of West Virginia: Civil War and Statehood
October 1863

Richmond Daily Dispatch
October 9, 1863

The Yankee government of West Virginia

--The formation of the Yankee Government of Virginia is now complete. The capital is temporarily established at Alexandria. The following are the names of the State officers:

Francis H. Pierpont, Governor; L. P. C. Cowper, Lieutenant Governor; L. A. Hagens, Secretary of State; G. P. Smith, Treasurer, L. W. Webb, Auditor; F. E. Foster, Adjutant General, L. J. Bowden, Attorney General.

Timeline of West Virginia: Civil War and Statehood: Undated: October 1863

West Virginia Archives and History