Skip Navigation
West Virginia Highway Markers Database
1 Record Found
Title: West Virginia's First Governor/Parkersburg Governors County: Wood

Inscription: Arthur I. Boreman presided at June 1861 Wheeling Convention where statehood plan formulated. Elected state's first governor June 20, 1863, he served three, two-year terms, resigning in 1869 to take U.S. Senate seat. Parkersburg attorney served as Wood County Circuit Judge 1861-1863 and 1888-1896. He is buried in Parkersburg Memorial Gardens.

Parkersburg was home for four of West Virginia's first 11 governors. Arthur I. Boreman (1823-96), first governor, served 1863-69; W. E. Stevenson (1820-83), third governor, served 1869-71; Jacob B. Jackson (1829-93), sixth governor, served 1881-85; A. B. White (1856-1941), eleventh governor, served 1901-05.

Location: Corner of 3rd and Market streets (behind the Wood County Courthouse), Parkersburg
Refine this Search

Records maintained by West Virginia Archives & History