Skip Navigation

Child of the Rebellion: West Virginia Sesquicentennial
Civil War Union Militia Correspondence

Roll of Panhandle Blues

Partial List of Members of Panhandle Blues

At a meeting of a portion of the members of the Panhandle Blues held at the court house in New Cumberland on Saturday, March 29th, 1902, it appearing that the original muster roll of said company was missing and could not be found, a partial list of the names of said members was prepared by those present, from memory, as follows:

Captains- Harvey Hibbetts, J. W. Allison, Monroe Wylie
First Lieut. – R. B. Hewitt
Second Lieut. – Wm. Hewitt

Thomas Stevenson, B. A. Geer, Jason Hart, W. F. Brown, J. H. Campbell, Harper Ralston, Beatty Minor, Samuel White, Alfred Marks, Harrison Stewart, George Stewart, R. N. Stewart, Samuel Huff, James Scott, ( of John) James Scott, (of Wm.) James Y. Campbell, W. W. Stewart, Wm. Wagnor, James Hukell, Wm. McSwiggen, Andrew M. Jackson, E. W. Geer, Wm. Brown, James Brown, John Brown, F. L. Mahan, Jerry Ralston, Robert Brice, Robert Sutor, Enoch Riley, Daniel Peak, joseph Scott, Peter A. Snowden, James Pugh, David Nicholson, H. Fowler,, A. J. Mercer, John Deemer, David Wycoff, A. McC. Flanegin, James Allison, (of Chas.)

v John Bissman
v P A Pugh Drummer
v W D Snowden
v Scott Minor
v J N Stewart
v Hugh Pugh
v Elias Maxwell
v J E Scott 56

Captain Monroe Wylie issued Certificates of 3 years service to the men. Several of who have been preserved and will be sent in with their Applications for pay

Transcription by Rose Feazell, undergraduate student enrolled in Dr. Billy Joe Peyton’s Fall 2010 “Introduction to Public History” at West Virginia State University

Militia Box 06, Folder 11

West Virginia Archives and History