Our Location and Hours
Built in 1835 by Captain William Jenkins and home of Confederate Brigadier General Albert Gallatin Jenkins it has survived wars, floods, wind and weather. Since 1835 a large brick house, essentially a mansion in its time and place, has stood sentinel on the banks of the Ohio River. It is the home of the Jenkins family, the most notable of whom was General Albert Gallatin Jenkins, C.S.A. His family owned more than 4,000 acres and maintained a successful plantation at Green Bottom, in what was then western Virginia.
In an area where both Union and Confederate sympathies were strongly held, Jenkins was a figure who was either despised or admired. His Border Rangers made bold raids into the enemy territory of Ohio. Educated in Pennsylvania and having served in the U.S. Congress, he faced the ultimate question of all civil wars: to choose which side he could in good conscience commit. This aspect of the site is most appealing to history enthusiasts and those enjoying dramatic story.
Not only were the Jenkins family part and parcel of the Plantation, but so were more than 50 slaves who worked and lived at Green Bottom. Imagine the feelings of those destined to be treated as property, living within yards of potential freedom. Their story is another important part of this site.
The goal of the Division of Culture and History is to preserve and promote the rich heritage of this area. With this in mind, the house is destined for renovation. Restoration to its mid-19th Century appearance will follow.
The Museum was recently added to the Civil War Discovery Trail, which links more than 500 sites in 28 states to inspire and to teach the story of the Civil War and its enduring impact on America.
Plans for expanded activities for the future include house tours, reenactments, and special events, from musical and dramatic presentations to seasonal programs. Ultimately, an interpreted working plantation is envisioned.
Download the National Register of Historic Places nomination form for General Albert Gallatin Jenkins House (1MB Acrobat PDF)
The historic Jenkins Plantation Museum will be closed while undergoing preservation actions by the U. S. Army Corps of Engineers, effective immediately.
The USACE owns the property and the West Virginia Division of Culture and History operates the facility. Actions include re-pointing the masonry, roofing work, window replacement and moisture infiltration, among others. The work done is intended to preserve the original characteristics of the house. The USACE anticipates that the project will take 12 to 18 months to complete. More information.
Check out these articles in the State Archives about General Jenkins:
We are located on West Virginia Route 2
The Jenkins Plantation Museum
8814 Ohio River Road * Lesage WV 25537
Currently closed while undergoing preservation actions
Check the local weather before your visit.